top of page

Transitioning in Utah/Nevada/Arizona

I live in Southern Utah - a crazy fun place to live when you're queer (that was sarcasm). While the general mood towards people in the LGBTQIA spectrum might fall heavily on the negative in the state overall, I've found that like anywhere else, you've just got to seek out and find the right people - and resources - which can require some more snooping here than in other states that might be more public about that sort of thing.

The bottom sign is pointing AWAY from Utah. Why didn't I listen?

Southern Utah also rubs right up against Arizona and Nevada - in fact, I go through both states on my way to visit the fiancee's family. So I decided to put together a post not only with directions to resources in each state, but a few things that I've come across here in SU that might be useful to my Nevada & Arizona brothers.

Informed Consent Clinics - Utah

The very first thing is IC Clinics. Now, with most doctors, getting prescribed testosterone requires a letter from a therapist (and they often want a psychiatrist/psychologist, not just a counselor). This is a pain for a variety of reasons - waiting lists, expensive-ness, possibly annoying therapists - and I think it's balderdash to require a therapists letter, anyway.

Now, the only official informed consent clinic in Utah is Rebirth OB/GYN Clinic in Salt Lake City. I have heard nothing but postitives about this clinic and its services, so if its close to you, I definitely recommend it. But SLC is a 4 hour drive for me, and I don't have a car. That makes it an expensive, hard-to-arrange trip that I was really hoping to avoid.

But do not fret - I, your fearless blogger - have found an informed consent clinic in Cedar City, UT! This means that not only is it great for Utahian trans guys (or gals!) it's not a super-long drive away from a lot of people in northern Nevada/Arizona, either.

Pictured: Me

Family Healthcare in Cedar City is a tiny clinic with super-affordable care. Their costs are based on a sliding-scale, so if you don't have insurance you bring in a recent pay stub and they change your expenses according to that. I once got a full check up from them for $20.

The doctor is SUPER affirming, great with pronouns, serves a couple of trans patients currently, doesn't require a therapist letter, and sells her CDs at the front desk - super chill. I went in for my first appointment to talk about getting on T and left with prescription in hand. It was a crazy exciting day.

Informed Consent Clinics - Nevada

I understand that Cedar City might still be too far away for many, so I've researched other informed consent clinics & will give their info (and what I know about them) here. It is always a good idea to call your nearest GP, though, and see if they require a letter or not, since I'm sure there are other places like Family Healthcare with doctors who prescribe without letters, even if they don't publicize it.

NORTHERN NEVADA HOPES,

RENO, NEVADA

580 W 5th St, Reno, NV 89503

+1 775-786-4673

Apparently, according to the person who shared about this clinic on reddit this clinic is informed consent - but difficult to become a patient of. The individual (I don't know their gender, so I will use "they") said you have to be one of the first 5 callers at 8 AM to become a patient, which can make it difficult. They said the workers at the clinic used their correct name & were very affirming, as well as being active in the LGBT community.

Informed Consent Clinics - Arizona

I've come across 2 in Arizona - yay!- here they are:

DR.MELANIE CLOONAN-SCHULTE

CHANDLER, ARIZONA

595 North Dobson Road, Chandler, AZ 85224,

(480) 821-0788

I don't have a ton of information about this clinic, unfortunately, but it has been verified as informed consent.

CAROL E. WILLIAMS, NP,

PHOENIX, ARIZONA.

McDowell Clinic: Internal Medicine, 1144 E. McDowell Rd

Suite 3000 Phoenix AZ 85006,

602-344-6550

This option is also supposed to be a pretty cheap one - the user said the doctor accpets AHCCCS, and they only had to make a $50 deposit payment for the appointment. Went in for an appointment, left that day with their prescription.

Always check for a local Planned Parenthood! They might be able to get you hooked on T, or direct you to a nearby informed consent option. This goes for every state everywhere!

This concludes the IC portion of this post.

Other Resources, By State

Obviously there's more to transitioning than hormones, and you might need a variety of things - even just support - before or during your transition. I have compiled possibly helpful links for you all! ('cause I'm Superman)

Pictured: also me

Utah

Utah Pride Transgender Resource Packets - lot of general topics w/ some specifics

Equality Utah Transgender Resource Guide -great info on Utah laws & document changes

The LGBTQ-Affirmative Psychotherapist Guild of Utah - helfpul to find affirming therapists & other mental health resources that are queer friendly

As mentioned above, always look to Planned Parenthood - they also might have more info about support local to your city or town :)

Arizona

One-N-Ten's Arizona Transgender Resources - great compilation list of resources for AZ trans individuals

Trans*Spectrum of Arizona - centered in Phoenix, an organization for trans* individuals. They curretnly have this packet of resources which they are planning on expanding. Also includes books & movies!

Phoenix Trans Resource Guide - from 2012, but includes a lot of legal info that is helpful & probably hasn't changed much

Southern Arizona Gender Alliance - a community since 1998, provide some great compilations of resources in various parts of the state. I've linked to the "rest of the state" page

Nevada

Northern Nevada Transgender Resource Guide - lots of stuff in here, from safety to transitioning to support to family stuff.

Transgender Allies Group - specifically in Nevada, it's a "network of allies" - has info about healthcare & other transition things on their site.

That's what I've got! To finish up, enjoy this comic from one of my favorite trans comics, What's Normal Anyway?

Next post: Packer-Locker.com!

Browse using tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page